The major collections within the archives include the following:

Archives of the Sisters of Mercy in the Dublin diocese, 1880-1950, including rules and constitutions; customs and minor regulations; meditations for retreats; reception and profession ceremonials; prayer books; correspondence; administrative papers; papers relating to convents in the diocese and foundations abroad; and papers relating to the promotion of the Cause of Catherine McAuley.

Archives of Our Lady of Mercy Teacher Training College, Carysfort, Blackrock, County Dublin 1883-1955, including administrative papers; architectural plans; reports of the Commissioners of National Education 1883-1920; reports of the Department of Education 1924-1933; report and programme presented by the national programme conference to the minister for education 1925-1926; programmes of examinations for entrance to the training college and for students in training 1933-1944; college concert programmes; matriculation examination for the National University of Ireland 1952; correspondence with the Office of National Education 1900-1915; correspondence with the Department of Education 1922-1940; rules and programmes for secondary schools 1931-1949; programmes of primary instruction 1926-1948; rules for national schools 1934; notes for national teachers issued by the Department of Education 1933-1952; correspondence with the archbishop of Dublin 1900-1920; golden jubilee celebrations 1952; 'Child Education' periodicals 1924; instrumental and vocal scores; articles on Irish educational theory and history; primary school readers.

St Catherine's Convent of Mercy, Baggot Street, Dublin 1870-1950.

St Brigid's Convent, Naas, County Kildare 1860-1950 including administrative papers; rules and constitutions; customs and minor regulations; reception and profession ceremonials; hymnals; spiritual reflections.

St John's Convent of Mercy, Birr, County Offaly 1838-1957 including specifications for the convent by Edward Welby Pugin 1838, architectural plans by Pugin and Ashlin 1855, general specifications and architectural plans 1909-1930; press cuttings; Lenten pastorals of the Bishop of Killaloe 1937-1957; letters from the Bishop of Killaloe 1866-1939; meditations and considerations for retreats; rules and constitutions; horariums; correspondence 1847-1892; decrees and rulings of the Sacred Congregation for Religious and Secular Institutes 1926-1952; letters regarding the Cause of Catherine McAuley 1937-1938; notes on the Crotty schism; history of the convent.

St Michael's Convent of Mercy, Athy, County Kildare 1852-1954 including copy letter books of Mother Teresa Maher 1861-1890; noviciate registers 1855-1899; poor account book 1852-1855; receipt account book 1855-1888; summary account book 1881-1892; day account book 1890-1897; minute book of the Children of Mary 1875-1876; architectural plans 1892-1902; letter from the Convent of Mercy, Kinsale, County Cork, regarding the death of a member of their community 1888; papers relating to a foundation in Brisbane, Australia 1862-1869; administrative papers; rules and constitutions.

Coláiste Íde Preparatory School, Dingle, County Kerry 1928-1955.

St Mary's Convent of Mercy, Arklow, County Wicklow 1876-1950.

Convent of Mercy, Borrisokane, County Tipperary 1900-1950.

St Michael's Convent of Mercy, Newtownforbes, County Longford 1869-1950.

The archives also hold the records of some thirty two industrial schools, residential homes and orphanages run by the Sisters of Mercy. Former residents of the schools and homes may obtain information about their placements by writing to the archives. Access by third parties is restricted under the 100 years rule.

The records include the following:

Antrim: St Patrick's, Crumlin Road, Belfast 1869-1920

Whiteabbey, Belfast, 1894-1912

Clare: St Xavier's, Ennis, 1880-1963

Kilrush, 1870-1956

Cork: Wellington Road, Cork, 1877-1886

St Aloysius, Clonakilty, 1869-1974

Our Lady of Mercy, Kinsale, 1869-1955

St Coleman's, Rushbrook, Cobh, 1870-1987

St Joseph's, Mallow, 1880-1972

St Joseph's, Passage West, 1882-1986

Dublin: St Anne's, Booterstown, 1870-1972

St Vincent's, Goldenbridge, 1880-1985

Galway: St Joseph's, Clifden, 1872-1971

St Bridget's, Loughrea, 1869-1963

St Joseph's, Ballinasloe, 1884-1964

St Anne's, Renmore, Lenaboy, 1869-1966

Kerry: St Joseph's, Killarney, 1869-1986

Pembroke Almshouse/Nazareth, Tralee, 1895-1988

Louth: St Joseph's, Dundalk, 1881-1971

Limerick: St Vincent's, Limerick, 1846-1979

Longford: Our Lady of Succour, Newtownforbes, 1870-1964

Mayo: St Columba's, Westport, 1871-1962

Offaly: St John's, Birr, 1870-1959

Sligo: St Laurence's, Sligo, 1908-1944

Tipperary: Nenagh, 1900-1946

St Augustine's, Templemore, 1870-1964

Tyrone: St Catherine's, Strabane, 1870-1948

Waterford: St Michael's, Cappoquin, 1873-1987

Westmeath: Mount Carmel, Moate, 1870-1978

St Joseph's, Summerhill 1904-1964

Wexford: St Michael's, Wexford, 1869-1971

Wicklow: St Kyran's, Rathdrum, 1884-1986

The archives also contain published histories of congregations of the Sisters of Mercy throughout Ireland, Great Britain Australia, New Zealand, the United States of America, Canada, and South America.

AccessMercy Congregational Archives is a private archive. Researchers are welcome, by prior appointment only. Access to some records may be restricted by the Data Protection Act 2018.
Repository NameMercy Congregational Archives
AddressCatherine McAuley Centre 23 Herbert Street Dublin 2
EircodeD02 HD68
Telephone(01) 638-7521
Repository Web Address