CollectionCavan Rural District Councils
Collection DescriptionThe Rural District Councils were not in existence for very long. Under the Free State Government, local government in Ireland was re-organised in an attempt to reduce the number of diverse authorities responsible for services. Under the Local Government Act, 1925, the Rural District Councils were abolished and their functions transferred to county councils [Cavan County Archives].
Collection Web Address

Includes Minute Books and associated records for Bailieborough, Bawnboy, Castlerahan, Cavan, Cootehill and Mullahoran.

AccessBy prior appointment
Century19th, 20th

A descriptive list for the Rural District Council Minutes is available here.

Repository NameCavan County Archives
AddressJohnston Central Library Farnham Street Cavan
EircodeH12 A3T1
Telephone(049) 4378500
Repository Web Address
CommentThe information listed from this repository and included in the original Directory was extracted from some lists available in the archive. Where no lists existed, staff of the Women's History Project constructed an outline list of the material. Due to time constraints, not all items in this repository were examined individually. We are grateful for the assistance of provided by Josephine Brady, the County Librarian and Tom Sullivan.