Collection DescriptionDún Laoghaire Corporation was established on 14 October 1930, on foot of the Local Government (Dublin) Act 1930, which amalgamated the Urban District Council's of Blackrock, Dalkey, Killiney-Ballybrack and Dún Laoghaire. These local authorities had been constituted as townships in the mid-nineteenth century and designated as U.D.C.'s under the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898.

The records transferred from the disbanded authorities to Dún Laoghaire together with those extant in Dún Laoghaire's Town Hall constitute the main archive of the Corporation. Also included in this list are primary records created by then Corporation from its inception until 1973, when a full-time borough manager was appointed, and records of the Dean's Grange Joint Burial Board.

The records have been divided into five mini collections in recognition of the independent existence of the authorities prior to the 1930 amalgamation. Each collection has been given the reference prefix L.A. for Local Authority, LA1 is Blackrock; LA2 - Dalkey; LA3 - Killiney-Ballybrack; LA4 - Kingstown-Dún Laoghaire and LA5 - Dún Laoghaire Corporation.

A descriptive list is available for each Collection. See link provided for Blackrock.
Collection Web Address

Manuscript letters from Dublin Corporation's Water Work Committee and Spencer Harty, Engineer's Office, City Hall, 6 April 1863-4 August 1874, regarding the provision of water to Blackrock from the Corporation's Vartry Supply. Included are warnings from the Committee about the excessive daily consumption of water in Blackrock and order to reduce the daily intake of 200, 285 gallons by the Township's 7,998 population to 159,960 gallons or 20 gallons per head per day as dictated by law, estimate for the probable cost of supplying water to Blackrock 6 April 1863, return of water delivery to Blackrock from Corporation mains from 14 June to 17 August 1869, returns of water meter readings and return of materials for water connections for year ending 31 August 1871, 31 items.

AccessBy prior appointment.
Repository NameDún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council
Address2 Marine Rd Dún Laoghaire County Dublin
EircodeA96 K6C9
Telephone(01) 205-4743
Repository Web Address
CommentThe information listed from this repository has been extracted from lists available in the archives. Due to time constraints not all items in this repository were examined individually. When making enquiries please put 'Archive Services' in the subject line of email correspondence.