Collection DescriptionDún Laoghaire Corporation was established on 14 October 1930, on foot of the Local Government (Dublin) Act 1930, which amalgamated the Urban District Council's of Blackrock, Dalkey, Killiney-Ballybrack and Dún Laoghaire. These local authorities had been constituted as townships in the mid-nineteenth century and designated as U.D.C.'s under the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898.

The records transferred from the disbanded authorities to Dún Laoghaire together with those extant in Dún Laoghaire's Town Hall constitute the main archive of the Corporation. Also included in this list are primary records created by then Corporation from its inception until 1973, when a full-time borough manager was appointed, and records of the Dean's Grange Joint Burial Board.

The records have been divided into five mini collections in recognition of the independent existence of the authorities prior to the 1930 amalgamation. Each collection has been given the reference prefix L.A. for Local Authority, LA1 is Blackrock; LA2 - Dalkey; LA3 - Killiney-Ballybrack; LA4 - Kingstown-Dún Laoghaire and LA5 - Dún Laoghaire Corporation.

A descriptive list is available for each Collection. See link provided for Killiney-Ballybrack.
Collection Web Address

Minutes of monthly meetings of the Finance and Public Health Committees. Finance Committee concerns itself largely with the inspection of accounts and wage books, the authorisation of bills for payment, the consideration and approval of estimates, examination and recommendation of tenders for acceptance and discussions as to miscellaneous legal and other costs in the main with reports on the sanitary condition of and health nuisances in the Township submitted to Executive and Sub Sanitary Officers, discussions and decisions in relation to same and the implementation of all provisions of the Public Health Act, 1878, the Infant Life Protection Act, 1872, and the Infectious Disease Notification Act, 1877-1899, Committee disbanded June 1899. Responsibilities assumed by the newly constituted Killiney and Ballybrack Urban Sanitary Authority. Included are occasional minutes of the Artisans Dwellings. Pensions and Roads Committees, Volumes 11 and 14 include indexes:

9 4 October 1887-16 December 1889

10 4 October 1887, Rough copy, 16 December 1889

11 20 January 1890-11 October 1897

12 19 October 1897-24 September 1906

13 29 October 1906-22 December 1919

14 30 January 1920-24 September 1930, includes minutes of occasional meetings of theforeshore and seashore sub-committee 1926-1930

AccessBy prior appointment.
Century19th, 20th

A specific reference number precedes a description of the document. This, together with the main reference number, is needed to call up each document

Repository NameDún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council
Address2 Marine Rd Dún Laoghaire County Dublin
EircodeA96 K6C9
Telephone(01) 205-4743
Repository Web Address
CommentThe information listed from this repository has been extracted from lists available in the archives. Due to time constraints not all items in this repository were examined individually. When making enquiries please put 'Archive Services' in the subject line of email correspondence.