CollectionKingstown/Dún Laoghaire
Collection DescriptionDún Laoghaire Corporation was established on 14 October 1930, on foot of the Local Government (Dublin) Act 1930, which amalgamated the Urban District Council's of Blackrock, Dalkey, Killiney-Ballybrack and Dún Laoghaire. These local authorities had been constituted as townships in the mid-nineteenth century and designated as U.D.C.'s under the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898.

The records transferred from the disbanded authorities to Dún Laoghaire together with those extant in Dún Laoghaire's Town Hall constitute the main archive of the Corporation. Also included in this list are primary records created by then Corporation from its inception until 1973, when a full-time borough manager was appointed, and records of the Dean's Grange Joint Burial Board.

The records have been divided into five mini collections in recognition of the independent existence of the authorities prior to the 1930 amalgamation. Each collection has been given the reference prefix L.A. for Local Authority, LA1 is Blackrock; LA2 - Dalkey; LA3 - Killiney-Ballybrack; LA4 - Kingstown-Dún Laoghaire and LA5 - Dún Laoghaire Corporation.

A descriptive list is available for each Collection. See link provided for Kingstown/Dún Laoghaire.
Collection Web Address

Abstracts of proceedings of the Public Health and General Purpose Committees containing agenda and accompanying commentary bythe Chairman and members of the Committee:

103 26 May 1892-12 April 1893

104 12 April 1893-13 October 1897

105 19 October 1897-18 February 1902

106 25 February 1902-19 April 1904

107 26 April 1904-24 April 1906

108 1 May 1906-22 April 1908

109 29 April 1908-3 August 1909

110 17 August 1909-30 August 1910

111 13 September 1910-16 July 1912

112 23 July 1912-27 April 1915

113 11 May 1915-21 October 1919

114 4 November 1919-11 November 1922

115 28 November 1922-1 January 1925

116 13 January 1925-4 September 1928

AccessBy prior appointment.
Century19th, 20th

A specific reference number precedes a description of the document. This, together with the main reference number, is needed to call up each document.

Repository NameDún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council
Address2 Marine Rd Dún Laoghaire County Dublin
EircodeA96 K6C9
Telephone(01) 205-4743
Repository Web Address
CommentThe information listed from this repository has been extracted from lists available in the archives. Due to time constraints not all items in this repository were examined individually. When making enquiries please put 'Archive Services' in the subject line of email correspondence.