CollectionDún Laoghaire Borough
Collection DescriptionDún Laoghaire Corporation was established on 14 October 1930, on foot of the Local Government (Dublin) Act 1930, which amalgamated the Urban District Council's of Blackrock, Dalkey, Killiney-Ballybrack and Dún Laoghaire. These local authorities had been constituted as townships in the mid-nineteenth century and designated as U.D.C.'s under the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898. The records transferred from the disbanded authorities to Dún Laoghaire together with those extant in Dún Laoghaire's Town Hall constitute the main archive of the Corporation. Also included in this list are primary records created by then Corporation from its inception until 1973, when a full-time borough manager was appointed, and records of the Dean's Grange Joint Burial Board. The records have been divided into five mini collections in recognition of the independent existence of the authorities prior to the 1930 amalgamation. Each collection has been given the reference prefix L.A. for Local Authority, LA1 is Blackrock; LA2 - Dalkey; LA3 - Killiney-Ballybrack; LA4 - Kingstown-Dún Laoghaire and LA5 - Dún Laoghaire Corporation. A descriptive list is available for each Collection. See link provided for Dún Laoghaire.
Collection Web Address

Unemployment Relief Schemes:
Wage Books listing those employed short term on unemployment relief schemes, days worked, duties performed and amounts earned.

378 21 April 1937-23 October 1937

379 29 October 1937-9 May 1939

380 16 May 1939-9 August 1940

381 25 June 1940-9 April 1943, includes employment of Air Raid Protection Wardens and skilled labour to repair Sandycove bomb damage.

382 26 November 1940-23 January 1942

383 30 January 1942-26 March 1943

384 13 March 1942-4 May 1945

385 14 December 1945-12 May 1950

386 22 February 1949-20 February 1951

387 12 December 1949-9 May 1950

388 14 December 1950-25 March 1953

389 27 January 1952-23 July 1952

AccessBy prior appointment.

A specific reference number precedes a description of the document. This, together with the main reference number, is needed to call up each document

Repository NameDún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council
Address2 Marine Rd Dún Laoghaire County Dublin
EircodeA96 K6C9
Telephone(01) 205-4743
Repository Web Address
CommentThe information listed from this repository has been extracted from lists available in the archives. Due to time constraints not all items in this repository were examined individually. When making enquiries please put 'Archive Services' in the subject line of email correspondence.