CollectionDún Laoghaire Borough
Collection DescriptionDún Laoghaire Corporation was established on 14 October 1930, on foot of the Local Government (Dublin) Act 1930, which amalgamated the Urban District Council's of Blackrock, Dalkey, Killiney-Ballybrack and Dún Laoghaire. These local authorities had been constituted as townships in the mid-nineteenth century and designated as U.D.C.'s under the Local Government (Ireland) Act 1898. The records transferred from the disbanded authorities to Dún Laoghaire together with those extant in Dún Laoghaire's Town Hall constitute the main archive of the Corporation. Also included in this list are primary records created by then Corporation from its inception until 1973, when a full-time borough manager was appointed, and records of the Dean's Grange Joint Burial Board. The records have been divided into five mini collections in recognition of the independent existence of the authorities prior to the 1930 amalgamation. Each collection has been given the reference prefix L.A. for Local Authority, LA1 is Blackrock; LA2 - Dalkey; LA3 - Killiney-Ballybrack; LA4 - Kingstown-Dún Laoghaire and LA5 - Dún Laoghaire Corporation. A descriptive list is available for each Collection. See link provided for Dún Laoghaire.
Collection Web Address

Revised valuation registers of the rateable tenements with the Corporation:

(i) Blackrock
(a) Ward Number 1
541 February 1936-February 1942
542 February 1942-December 1951
(b) Ward Number 2
543 February 1936-February 1942
544 February 1942-December 1951
(c) Ward Number 3
545 February 1936-February 1941
546 February 1950-December 1951

(ii) Dalkey
547 February 1936-February 1942
548 1942-February 1951
549 February 1967-February 1968

(iii) Killiney
550 March 1914-March 1933
551 1936-1950
552 February 1954-February 1974

(iv) Dun Laoghaire
553 1929-1937
(a) District Number 1
554 1939-1943
555. 1943-February 1951
(b) District Number 2
556 February 1951
(c) District No. 3
557 1942-1943
558 1943-February 1951
(d) District Number 4
559 1938-1943
560 1943-1951

AccessBy prior appointment.

A specific reference number precedes a description of the document. This, together with the main reference number, is needed to call up each document

Repository NameDún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council
Address2 Marine Rd Dún Laoghaire County Dublin
EircodeA96 K6C9
Telephone(01) 205-4743
Repository Web Address
CommentThe information listed from this repository has been extracted from lists available in the archives. Due to time constraints not all items in this repository were examined individually. When making enquiries please put 'Archive Services' in the subject line of email correspondence.